Coal ministry allocates 4 mines to state power utilitie

The Coal Ministry of India has allotted four mines to the state power generation utilities in Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh and Haryana. This assumes significance in the backdrop of the government’s commitment to provide round-the-clock electricity to all in the country.
"Allotment letters were issued on February 24 in respect of 4 coal blocks namely Chandrabila, Mahajanwadi, Sarapal-Nuapara and Kalyanpur-Badalpara," an official said.
The official further said that Chandrabila block was allotted to Tamil Nadu Generation and Distribution Corporation Ltd, Mahajanwadi mine was allotted to Maharashtra State Power Generation Co Ltd, Sarapal-Nuapara block was allotted to Andhra Pradesh Power Generation Corporation Ltd and Kalyanpur-Badalpara mine was allotted to Haryana Power Generation Corporation Ltd.
"Under Rule -04 of the Auction by Competitive Bidding of Coal Mines Rules, 2012, allotment letters have been issued," the official added.
The Centre had earlier allotted over 40 coal mines to central or state government companies and had auctioned 31 blocks in three tranches. The government had in December last year cancelled the process for fourth round of coal block auctions, which was scheduled for January on account of poor response from bidders in sectors like steel as well as depressed commodity prices and adverse market conditions.
The coal mines that were to be auctioned in the fourth tranche were earmarked for non-regulated sectors, like iron and steel, cement and captive power plants. The government is aiming to provide 24×7 power by 2019 by creating cost-effective infrastructure which will be sustainable and inclusive of clean energy solutions.
Previous articleEni starts 3 oil, gas and water treatment plants at Zub
Next articleIran signs oil agreement with France’s Total